Alvaro Morata picked up Antoine Griezmann’s pass on the right and circled a defender before plunging into the box. He continued to turn the ball to deceive another Elche player before finishing with his left foot.
The ball then hit the opponent’s leg and flew high past the reflexes of the away team’s goalkeeper. Morata appeared to have injured himself after taking the shot and was seen clutching his left ankle as he received a desperate tackle from defender Elche. When Morata lay on the field, the ball went into the net.
The 30-year-old didn’t seem to realize he had scored in a strange moment. He hugged his leg to ask the referee to blow a penalty. It wasn’t until seeing his teammates celebrate that the former Real Madrid star jumped up and danced with all of them.
The image of Morata suddenly not celebrating even though he scored a goal before really bursting is causing a fever in public opinion after the match ended.
Lu Feng | 10:56 December 30, 2022